Pre Departure

The last month has been a hectic roller coaster as I prepare for staging in Philadelphia on May 29 and departure for Cameroon on May 31. I am trying to decide what to bring and what to leave behind as I place items into different piles and attempt to fill a suitcase full of things that I will essentially rely on for the next two years. On top of that, subletting the apartment has been no easy task as I have had two people back out at the last minute over the last month. As of current I am still stuck with the remaining three months of the lease, but in high spirits at least. There are so many things to do with so little time: hiking boots, headlamp, climbing gear, tooth cleaning appointment, suit pickup, etc. It’s coming down to the wire and I know with absolute certainty there will be something I will forget to do or something that I will regret not doing. All this prep work amidst meeting with friends, family, and well-wishers in a barrage of BBQs, dinners, and going away events; it’s all very exhausting yet encouraging at the same time and I appreciate everyone’s efforts to make time for me before my departure, thank you all!

Now to focus my attention back to sorting and packing.

Leave a comment